Halloween Pix

Just for fun.

All these pix are of the front and side yards of one house in Old Orchard Beach, ME.

Halloween house16 Halloween house15 Halloween house14 Halloween house13 Halloween house12 Halloween house11 Halloween house10 Halloween house9 Halloween house8 Halloween house6 Halloween house5 Halloween house4 Halloween house3 Halloween house2 Halloween house

About allevenson

Writer (of stories, journals, email dialogues), Reader (of books written by friends, recommended by friends, and works-in-progress of friends), Hiker (never met a trailhead I didn't like), Biker (more scenery for the buck than hiking) and lately, Blogger (about my Year on the Road at www.allevenson.wordpress.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Halloween Pix

  1. Sheri says:

    Looks like the people who own that house are having a ball with this holiday. I just saw something similar in Chicago. Which leads me to wonder how children manage to absorb all of this without scaring (or scarring) themselves. I mean, decapitated bodies, witches, giant spiders, ghosts. . . not exactly calming or comforting images to me! (Not that I want to take away from the artistry of what you posted, Al. It must have taken a lot of thought and effort to pull that off.)

  2. karen wittgraf says:

    I love Halloween and wish i could dress up as i did in teaching preschool…(fairy tale characters, of course). It releases the “devil” in all of us and we all need a little madness (as Zorba says).
    Cool pixs!

  3. Histscape says:

    Where do they store all that stuff for the rest of the year, that’s what I’d like to know? Also there is Christmas and that place has got to find room for all that stuff for it. It is all a crazy commercial thing isn’t it? The world is imploding around us, we are about to enter a great world wide depression and this is where are heads are at. Still despite my pessimistic impression about the state of mind of some people I have to love it. Great work Al at finding this. What a treat as where we live we haven’t seen one trick or treat child at our door in 10 years.

  4. Erika says:

    Ohhh scary stuff for little munchkins. Looks like the stuff nightmares are made of if you are a little kid.
    If you are not, it could be a blast!

  5. Dave Bauer says:

    In an earlier age, children were the center of Halloween celebrations. Since adults have taken over, the grim and ghastly atmosphere of the macabre surfaces more frequently. Wonder how kids may have approached this house on Halloween Eve?

  6. Karen Goucher says:

    I just really tried to enjoy the creative side of all this…….Canadians don’t seem to get into such
    hoopla about this holiday. Having said that – in 2012 in Vancouver we had 72 children come to
    our door….91 the year before. This year, we are in Florence, Oregon and not one child. Sad.
    I must confess one of my first thoughts too was where all these creative items live the rest of the year and how does one start this venture……does one collect it over time as a hobby and it just grew – the mindset of this is interesting. I would like to see this house at Christmas….contrast?

  7. Karen Johnson says:

    Wow,they really go all out! Makes me dizzy!

  8. Colleen Rae says:

    Great photos. I wonder too, where do they store all this the rest of the year? Very creative display. How did you find this place?
    We had about 50 trick o rtreaters. Lots of them were teenagers which took candy away from the little ones. I asked one, “Aren’t you a little big to be trick or treating?” Their response: You’re never too old to trick or treat.” I couldn’t thnk of a quick retort so I gave them candy. I decided next year I won’t give candy to the teenagers..
    I remember one year in MD when my kids were little. My kids were out with the neighbors trick or treating. I”m not particularly proud of what I did. We had just moved in a new house and their was an open ditch in our front yard to connect us to the city water. A yellow ribbon was staked around the ditch. I donned a white sheet and got in the ditch. When the kids came into our yard, I came out of the ditch, howling like a ghost. I scared a liot of kids that year. But isn’t that part of Haloween? To be scared?

Leave a Reply

