Another Boat Trip.

Last April I got my first yachting fix in several years.  Some will remember the blog, Gone to Sea Again (http://wp.me/p31Ng8-2Z).  I joined my friends Greg and Linda in Jacksonville, FL, for the trip north to their home on the Chesapeake Bay.

Watermark, their 53’ Huckins, is a serious snowbird–like me.  So when I got orders to report for southing duty aboard the boat, I wedged the dates into my travel plans.

On the northward trip last spring, I had a deadline for getting back to Maine and was able to be on board only as far as Charleston.  This time I have no such constraints, and I am on board until the final port.

The Intracoastal Waterway is one of the great north/south highways of the country and much more scenic than I-95 or I-5.

Jolly Swag and I arrived at Linda and Greg’s home on the Chesapeake at dusk on Saturday.  Greg delayed his intended 7:30 a.m. departure in order to let the morning fog burn off. 

 

WMb& Sail

 

The bay was bowling-alley flat, and Watermark steamed along at 15-20 knots.  Thin fog banks and shifting mists swirled in slow motion stacking gray skyshapes on the horizon.  In the pix below a fog bank appears to be land.

Skysape2 Skycape1

 

A hundred miles from home we entered Norfolk Harbor and viewed a skyline panorama of naval vessels.

Navy ships

Last time I moved a boat through the Chesapeake it was an initiation into seas that were five-foot cubes.  They heaved oil-drum loads of ice water into the cockpit and onto the helmsman.  No one kept the helmsman company, although he was fortified regularly with Yukon Jack.

This time I was served apple pie which Linda baked while underway.  The dollop of Breyers Natural Strawberry Ice Cream was a nice finishing touch.  And, yes I asked Linda if she had a sister.  

I hope life is as good for other gypsies. 

 

 

 

About allevenson

Writer (of stories, journals, email dialogues), Reader (of books written by friends, recommended by friends, and works-in-progress of friends), Hiker (never met a trailhead I didn't like), Biker (more scenery for the buck than hiking) and lately, Blogger (about my Year on the Road at www.allevenson.wordpress.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Boat Trip.

  1. karen wittgraf says:

    Al,
    I don’t know how you do it, but you have made your life an adventure and I envy you. One minute you’re in the middle of a forest, the next on a yacht eating apple pie. Amazing! Keep it up, and I loved the pictures!

  2. David L says:

    Apple pie and ice cream? I want to see this experienced mariner don the flippers and retrieve the xbox. I mean let’s have some excitement here – give the blog tension. Or barring that, scarf up the Doritos.

    Great photos, Al. Of course we envy your ease with adventure. Ice cream or no. I sit in the comfort of a living room chair with my feet on a hassock awaiting my hors d’oeuvres and a single malt scotch.

    Happy motoring, friend. Next time.

  3. Bill says:

    You go young man! Say hi to Greg and Linda for us. We wish we cruising with you alongside in “Voyager”. We are again doing “Camperforce” duties with Amazon in Campbellsville, KY. till Christmas Then off for a short bit in Virginia and onward to winter for the remaining time in the Tampa area. Fair winds and following seas to all of you! Bill & Rebecca

  4. Eric says:

    Hmm, apple pie and strawberry Ice cream…
    I wouldn’t a thunk! Way to think outside the box. Or, carton.

  5. Colleen Rae says:

    Al, you are the master of adventure! Apple pie and ice cream is a proper snack for a helmsman.. You always seem to have water in your life. When I met you you were selling yachts and seemed to know ever living thing about them, at least to my uneducated ears. Love the photos..Fair winds my friend.

  6. Hi Al, Cool note and photos…let me know if you’ll be passing thru Fort Pierce…anchorage out window here (and Harbour Isle Marina…no pelican poop like downtown). Could snap a pic of you all against sunup in the Sunrise City and would be fun to say hi. Cheers, Claudette

    • allevenson says:

      Thanks for the offer, Claudette. You are a great photographer, but unfortunately the boat will be going no further south than Jax on this trip.

      This summer I was able to loo up our friend, Pat, in Belfast and have a nice catch up visit with her.

Leave a Reply

